The Accidental Runner

I never planned to become a runner. It all started with the Family Weight Loss Challenge; at the ripe old age of 57 it wasn’t going to be easy to get the weight I needed to lose to come off. I knew it was going to take a lot of cardio as well as watching every thing I ate, just cutting back and doing Pilates three times a week would never be enough. So I got on the treadmill. But, I didn’t want to spend at least an hour on the treadmill it was too boring, even with the TV on, so I decided to try running on the treadmill. The theory being that if I ran I would burn more calories and could get off the treadmill faster. When I started I couldn’t run for 10 minutes with out stopping. I ran and I walked and I ran a little more and slowly worked up to running two miles.

Daughter #1 decided she wanted to run the 5k at the Disney Princess half Marathon weekend. I said I would run with her and worked my way up to three miles on the treadmill. I had never run outside and I had never even considered running in a race. In my mind I wasn’t a runner, running was just something I did a few days a week. I was nervous about the race, afraid I would be the last one across the finish line. Running that 5k was amazing, empowering and best of all it was fun, thank you runDisney!  As I crossed the finish line I thought to myself, “I guess I really am a runner!”

After finishing the 5k Daughter #1 decided she wanted to run a Half Marathon. I laughed and said she was on her own for that, there was no way I was ever going to run 13.1 miles. (Famous last words, but the story of how I ended up running my first half marathon is best saved for another day)

-Run Mama

Leave a Reply

